Updated September 2016
We urge customers to make their own decisions about allergies. If you have a severe allergy, do not eat our products. We cannot guarantee against cross-contamination.
That being said, we rigorously sanitize our ice cream making equipment between No-Moo® and ice cream runs. We also sanitize/rinse our machines after making products using nuts, gluten and egg, if the allergen was placed into our ice cream machine and not incorporated upon ejection (most are incorporated upon ejection, so they stay chunky).
To help prevent an allergic reaction, if a customer asks, we will use a freshly cleaned and sanitized scoop or spade, and go into the walk-in freezer and open a new tub and serve from that.
See also: Kosher Information
An important thing to know is that all of our ice cream flavors are made with the same ice cream machine. We use the same utensils and containers to make flavors containing nuts and ingredients made from nuts. Also, all scoops and spades, including those used to serve nut flavors, are rinsed in the same running water (scoop wells). However, you may always request that we use a clean scoop and open a new tub of ice cream, as described above.
If you have a severe nut allergy, do not eat our products. We cannot guarantee that any of our products are totally nut-free.
In our lists of flavors, we indicate what flavors contain nuts, for those who wish to avoid them. Watch for the nut icon:
Many nuts used as toppings are on our front counter. Many of the other candy toppings on the counter have nuts in them, including the chopped toffee (almond bits), Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups, Peanut M&M’s, Butterfinger, and others.
The nuts and other items containing nuts are stored in containers on shelves where other foodstuffs are also stored.
Gluten is found in products made from wheat, rye, barley, and oats. Gluten is not in corn, rice, soybeans and other beans, and potatoes. It is in anything made from wheat flour or grain, such as most cookies and baked goods, cereals, pasta, whiskey, beer, and many other foods.
There is no gluten in the ice cream base that we use to make all of our flavors of ice cream. Some flavors are made with added ingredients that contain gluten, however. Please refer to the lists of flavors for full information on flavors that contain gluten. Watch for the wheat icon:
If you have a severe gluten allergy or celiac disease, do not eat our products. We cannot guarantee that any of our products are totally gluten-free.
Our standard ice cream base and frozen yogurt base do not contain eggs. However, some flavors contain eggs, particularly those that contain baked goods or that are custard-based. Please refer to the lists of flavors for full information on flavors that contain eggs. Watch for the egg icon:
If you have a severe egg allergy, do not eat our products. We cannot guarantee that any of our products are totally egg-free.
If you have a severe dairy allergy, do not eat our products. We cannot guarantee that any of our products are free of cross-contamination with dairy.